To Friendship

Standard

My friends:

You are to me my sanity and peace of mind. My garden of blooming flowers. The song on my lips, the smile on my face. My sounding boards, my critics. The laughter in my life, the silly jokes. The serious discussions about silly blokes. The happiness, the joy, the comforting quilt of love. My eyes light up when I hear from you, and if I don’t, I always hope all is well with you. Distances don’t matter; not talking for days is fine. We can start where we left off, not dependent on time.You are the unshakeable rocks in my life. The music, the songs, the laughter. My philosophers, my guides. You accept me as I am. You nurture me. You pamper me. You care about me. You don’t judge me. You let me cry my heart out. You give me a patient hearing. You tell me no lies. You love me unconditionally. You drive away my loneliness. You make me feel better about being me.

If I am half as good a friend to you, as you are to me, then I will have lived my life well.

In honor of Friendship Day in 1998, Nane Annan, wife of UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan, named Winnie the Pooh as the world’s Ambassador of Friendship at the United Nations.

“A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked.” ― Bernard meltzer

Leave a Reply

